The conduct of the pre assessment is an initiative of DILG- Aklan which is a measure to encourage the LGU to comply with the documentary requirements and also putting into action the mandate of the Local Government Code of 1991 on the delivery of basic services.
The Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) is an incentives based program of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) which challenges Local Government Units to continue good governance practices while providing better services. It is anchored on transparency and accountability which is already in its fourth year of implementation.
There are two types of SGLG Areas: Core and Essential Areas. The former is composed of Financial Administration, Disaster Preparedness, Social Protection and Peace and Order which was an essential area but with a shift in the Fiscal Policy of the government was incorporated as a core area because the same is a priority measure in the battle against illegal drugs, criminality and graft and corruption. The latter lists Business Friendliness and Competitiveness, Environmental Management and Tourism Culture and the Arts with the latter as the newest addition to cater to the booming tourism industry of the country.
This year the pre assessment started in March 20  and will cover all of the 17 municipalities of the Province of Aklan including the Province itself. The assessors from the provincial office will scrutinize all of the required documents and provisions for infrastructure such as ramps for persons with disabilities, waste segregation facilities, early warning device for typhoons and other calamities, materials recovery facility and other structures required by law.
During its second year of implementation, only provincial focal person LGOO V Atella Velasco conducted the pre assessment as an offshoot of the invitation of municipal social welfare officers (MSWDO) and other functionaries to provide them with the necessary backgrounder and preparation during the actual validation. So it came to pass that such practice was institutionalized by the provincial office headed by provincial director John Ace Azarcon.
This year, the team is composed of LGOOs VI Maricel Bechayda and Lynette P. Urquiola, LGOOs V Atella Velasco and Racefin O. Suco and LGOOs II Joy Nabor, Rucel Batuampo and Aniano Ray F. Franco to assist in the pre assessment process. The municipalities that have been pre assessed are Kalibo, Ibajay, Batan, Buruanga, Tangalan, Malinao, Nabas, Lezo and New Washington. Next in line are Provincial Government of Aklan, Malay, Altavas, Makato and the rest in the second week of April. (LGOO II Aniano Ray F. Franco, DILG6-Aklan).